Blame

I did not get a blog written last week.  Boo!  Let me tell you why.  We were faced with a possible hurricane (it skipped us, we are fine).  We have been looking for a new house, found one, went through several days of emotional turmoil to try and get a contract.  We got it.  My husband worked 85 hours last week to finish a deadline – so I was single mom last week.  And my in-laws came and visited over the holiday weekend.  Whew!  That was a bit stressful.  Glad it’s over.  Good things.  But even good stress is still stress.  So, here is my post for this week.  Hope it makes up for last week.  Love to you all!!

My Inspiration:

Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head, and he fell to the ground and worshiped.  He said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, And naked I shall return there. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away.  Blessed be the name of the Lord.”
Through all this Job did not sin nor did he blame God.
Job 1:20-22

My Thoughts:

Do you ever blame God for the things that go wrong in your life? If anyone on this earth had reason too, it would be Job. He lost everything. The family he loved, all of his possessions, and his health. Sometimes bad things happen because of our poor choices. But sometimes painful things just happen in life for reasons that we don’t understand. I don’t think I have ever blamed God for bad things, but I have questioned Him. I recognize that both believers and non-believers encounter all kinds of earthly suffering due to the curse of sin. As a believer though, I have often questioned why suffering happens to those who are trying to please Him. I have also felt angry and frustrated that we don’t know these answers. I have grieved and continue to grieve a life that I thought I was going to have and still desire.

My illness started my last year in college. I have been dealing with this for basically my whole adult life with very little hope that I will ever be “well”. I have ups and downs physically that range from completely bedridden (did that for 2 years) to all appearances of normal. I managed to finish college and even get a Master’s degree. I married the love of my life and spent the first 18 months of our marriage in the bed. Literally. I grieve that I never had a honeymoon or the first years of marriage were covered in illness and doctor’s appointments, but I am blessed beyond measure that he stuck with me and doesn’t complain. Life has become more manageable since the early days. I know my body’s limitations and triggers. I appear to live a “normal” life, but no one sees the meds and lifestyle changes that have been made to appear that way. Although I am in a good place with my health right now, I still suffer consequences of this chronic illness, everyday. That is my life.

I have discovered that dealing with chronic pain and the loss of “normalcy” is a continual process. It is not something that can just be conquered emotionally or spiritually once and for all. Wait. Read that again. It is a continual process. Just when I think I have a handle on how this illness works. It surprises me. And just when I think I have laid this to rest, accepting it for what it is, something happens that sends me spiraling into tears of frustration. And just when I think I have put all of this into God’s hands, I am tempted to doubt and question His ways. This is a journey! A constant, active mindset of laying our lives and our plans at the feet of Jesus.

My thoughts from the beginning have always been to allow the Lord to teach me through it – to use it for His purposes. But what do you do when you try to find purpose in it and sometimes come up empty? We know that God ordains everything. Nothing surprises Him. He chose you and me to suffer chronic pain and fatigue. Why? I search for reasons why all the time. Maybe I am to minister to those who chronically suffer. Maybe this lesson is for me to trust completely. Maybe it is the only thing in my life that keeps me running to His Word. Maybe the desires and ambitions I had for this life were not good for me. (Blessings)

I am currently a stay at home mother of five kids and I am thankful and blessed. But I am also full of ambition and passionate about what my career would have been. I still dream of going to get my Doctorate degree. But for what purpose? I don’t know that I could ever work a full time job. Why would God give me talent, ambition, and passion and then allow my body to fail me? I don’t know. I think it’s OK to question why, to question His purpose. But always realizing that HE DOES INDEED HAVE A PURPOSE!!!

I don’t have answers, but I can offer you encouragement. Keep trusting, praying, believing, and looking for ways to use your suffering. Remind yourself of all the good in your life – the abundant blessings that we often take for granted. I hope and pray that in our lifetime there will be a cure for fibro and cfs and that the suffering will one day come to an end. Until then, I allow myself to grieve and question, but I am also confident that He controls it all. Sometimes it stinks, but His purposes are always for the greater good. ALWAYS!

Love and Blessings,
Ann 🙂

14 thoughts on “Blame

  1. Oh Ann
    I wish I could just give you a big, bear hug!! I can actually feel in my heart the acceptance, uncertainty, sorrow and vulnerability that you are experiencing. Yes,dear friend, His ways are not ours, and just as well, because one thing this illness has taught me is that this world’s standard to measure one’s worth is totally different from our God’s. If I want to be honest, mine was very worldly minded. We might not understand His ways, but as you have said in your post, we can rest assured that even if His ways are most of the time not comfortable or nice, it is always the best. Hang in there, dear one, and think of all the beautiful songs you are going to sing for us all once we are all home with our Father!
    Blessings

  2. Ann, I have and am experiencing so many of the same things right now. I have other health problems besides Fibro and CFS and with all of them together I feel so useless. I am mostly confined to my house because of my health and depression. I have no children but thankfully I have a loving and supportive husband. I trust the Lord and I know He loves me but I am struggling. I feel like I am out of sight and out of mind ever since I became disabled and am unable to work.Today is my birthday, not a single family member or friend called me. So I spent my birthday crying feeling like salt was put in my wounds. I’m just struggling in finding the joy I’m supposed to have. May God forgive me.
    I am thankful for your for your blog posts. They are an encouragement.

    • Dear Renee
      You are my dear sister in Jesus and I want to wish you a very,very happy birthday. Remember, dear one, that your Pappa God is crying with you and collects every single one of your tears and put them in His Renee jar. Please, don’t ever think that that He is angry at you and that you need forgiveness! If you just need a birthday chat, please email me at meraai.devries@gmail.com. You are your Pappa’s own dear special child and never, never forget that. We are all here for you!

      Blessings

      Mia

    • Renee, reading this makes my heart sad. I am sorry you are struggling, but please know that you are not alone. I, too, have spent time over the years wondering where the “joy” is. Feeling useless and too sick to do anything about it. These are hard times and I am sorry you are at that stage of the journey. I wish I could give you a hug. I don’t have any magical advice for you, but I do know what you are going through and there are many others who do too. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Keep resting in the Lord and draw your strength from Him. If you need an empathetic “ear”, please feel free to email me at restoringmysoul@gmail.com. I am sorry you had a lonely birthday. Let me extend you good thoughts and wishes for your birthday. I hope you at least got to celebrate with some cake! 🙂 Happy Birthday, Renee!!!!

      Blessings,
      Ann

      • Thank you Ann and Mia for reaching out with your love and comforting words. (And birthday wishes) It was a blessing. I know I will have to trust in the Lord to get me through, one day at a time. He is my strength, I just have to rely on Him. Just a little side note Mia, I think my bottle of tears is as big as my house by now but hopefully in the future, it will grow at a slower pace.

  3. Just what I needed to hear this morning. I found myself in tears yesterday, as I was trying to hang curtains. The things that used to come so easy, do not anymore. I felt frustrated, angry, and alone. I cried out to God and said ” I know you understand, even when I do not !” In that moment, I knew God heard my cry. He is truly there and understands what I am going through. I miss parts of the old me, I long for the days when I had energy for the things that need to be done, but God has me in this place for a reason and I have to trust Him.

    Thank you so much for your blog and for reminding us that He is in control. God was definately using you today to speak to me:)

    • Yes, the little tasks that we used to take for granted are now frustrating and sometimes impossible. I can relate to this for sure. We have a move coming up and I keep thinking how I can be of much help. I can barely lift a box without it sending me into a terrible pain and the energy that it’s going to take to pack this house up…. Where am I going to find that? But God is in control and He is faithful. Thanks for sharing your heart today, Kim!

Leave a Reply

