Guest Post: Finding Purpose

Here is another great guest post!  Please meet my friend, Lee.  We have never met in person, but we have become great friends through email.  She is a treasure! 🙂  Lee will be getting married very soon and will be going through some wonderful changes in her life.  Please keep her in prayer as fibromyalgia is not friendly to  life’s adjustments, even the good ones.  I know you will be blessed by her words.  Leave her some love in the comments!

My name is Lee and I’m currently living in Ohio. I’m 21 years old and will be getting married in just a few short weeks. My fiancee and I are striving to fulfill the Lord’s purpose for our lives, and have future plans for ministry overseas. Fibro was an unexpected thing for both of us, but we know that God’s calling is His enabling, and that He will give us the strength to fulfill His plan.

Finding Purpose

Have you ever spoken with someone who was struggling with a serious issue, and felt completely helpless as to what to do to help? Maybe it was someone struggling with an abusive marriage, drug addiction, suicide, depression, cancer, diabetes or maybe an eating disorder? In that moment, you might have struggled finding the right words to say, or maybe you just sat bewildered and said in your heart “Help me Lord…what do I do?”

This feeling can be so crippling, especially when your heart yearns to be a blessing to them somehow and to ease their pain. Aristotle once said: “To perceive is to suffer.” The more I read this statement and roll it around in my mind, the more I find it beautifully profound. The word perceive can be defined: “to recognize, discern, envision, or understand.”

To truly perceive a person’s pain, one must be familiar with or recognize it. True empathy cannot be realized until someone has suffered and understood a similar issue.

The Lord has been gently stamping this truth on my heart, and it has been such an amazing tool for me in coping with my illness. I am learning that there is so much blessing in sickness, and so much wisdom to be learned in pain. One of my favorite authors is C.S Lewis, and I have just recently read a beautiful quote of his that I would like to share with you.

He said, “Pain insists upon being attended to. God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our consciences, but shouts in our pains. It is his megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”

My heart both breaks and sings with this statement because I have found it to be so true in my life. This season of struggle has caused me to hear the voice of God in a way that I never have before. It has both brought me to my knees and raised me up in great joy.

He has been helping me to find purpose in my pain. The daily struggle with fatigue, neuropathy, sleeplessness, brain fog, and pain is all for a reason. This attack on my body is not in vain! This experience has sharpened my ability to recognize and identify with the pain and chronic conditions of others. This ability is a gift from God, not my doing, and I feel honored to have been given stewardship of it. I am learning that this pain has not been permitted in my body for me to be crushed beneath the weight of it, or be in valleys of despair and self-pity. Let me tell you, it’s not always easy, but I have found that the joy of the Lord truly is my strength!

Each day I have learned how to draw on that joy, over and over again, and I find that He has such a sweet and gentle way of replenishing it. He has called me to share that joy, and I believe He is calling you too. If there’s one thing that people need most in our world, it is the salvation and joy of the Lord. They are starving for it and you might be surprised at the reactions of people when you exercise this principle. Your pain is not in vain, and there are people who desperately need your empathy. They need someone to be there for them when they are hurting, and not just to be there, but to listen, and truly understand. As you well know, there is something so priceless about an understanding hug, tear, or hand to hold. But I challenge you, don’t wait forever for someone to come to you…go to them! If you don’t know where to find them, just pray…the Lord will lead you right to them. In that moment when you sacrifice your time and energy to give to a hurting heart, you will find that God refreshes your spirit in a way so beautiful, it is not easily forgotten.

God has such a wonderful plan for your life, whether you are healed of your infirmity, or whether you faithfully endure until He calls you home. You are called according to His purpose, and each one of you has one! Ask Him to lead you to that neighbor who’s hurting, or to that person who just needs a smile or a hug. When you’re feeling low, try to reach out, when you’re feeling blue….SING! When you feel alone, remember that Jesus suffered much for you, and that there is not a single thing that you’re going through that He doesn’t understand. His compassion and love is overwhelming, and He would delight to see you lavish that love and empathy on a soul who needs it.

May God give us all the strength and courage we need to be exactly what He wants us to be on this journey. May we see His bright and beautiful purpose, may we catch a glimpse of Heaven, may we be propelled to do everything we can to see His kingdom grow, and may we learn from each daily experience how to share His love! Thankyou so much for letting me share my heart with you today. May God richly bless each one of you! 🙂

 Well said, Lee!  Thank you for taking the time to share with us during this busy time of your life!  Blessings to you!!!

6 thoughts on “Guest Post: Finding Purpose

  1. What a wonderful message. It is so very true that we hear God loudly in times of pain. I have found this to be true myself. I have grown closer to God with my battle of CFS/Fibro. It has slowed me down just enough to truly hear His voice. There are still days when I question His plan, but know that He causes all things to work together for our good.

    I appreciate you taking the time to write this..it has been such an encouragement to me.

  2. Lee, What a great article! And so true, too. Not just for those suffering physically, but for every one of us. We all go through difficulties and these principles can help us all. Thank you so much for sharing your heart. May the Lord bless you on the journey of life! Denise (Ann’s mom-in-law)

  3. Dear Lee
    Your understanding of our Lord’s working in us through our suffering to bring forth His purpose and good for our lives are truly astounding! Thank you for bringing perspective to our lifes with FM. Your willingness to show your vulnerability makes your article so much more precious. I hope that you will have a wonderful wedding day and that you two will have a great life together in our Lord. I pray that your big day will be pain free !
    Blessings
    Mia

  4. A scripture that helps me is 2 Corinthians 1:3-4, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” Thank you for sharing!

  5. Thank-you all for your kindness and words of encouragement. It was so overwhelming. I was so blessed and touched with each comment! The beautiful love of Jesus shines brightly in each one of you, I know. Thank-you for listening and for your feedback 🙂 (and thank-you my dear friend Ann for giving us this opportunity to share) Love to all!

  6. Hi, i’ve been diagnosed with peripheral axonal idiopathic neuropathy. in other words, no one knows what the cause is so there’s no cure. yipee. anyhow, i’ve tried mirapex – wierd side effects so i discontinued. i’ve used some homeopathic stuff on my feet – mainly at night cuz it smells so bad(!) and use sleep aids to get past the pain so i can sleep. i’ve heard all kinds of things for the progression of this disease. i don’t have diabetes, i’ve never had chemo. sometimes i get severe pains through my legs as though someone is jamming a stick through them. it comes and goes. sometimes my feet feel like they’re in a vice grip, which comes and goes. but mostly it’s just the burning pain. sometimes my hands get a little numb. I’m glad to know I’m not alone and your blog inspires me. Have a happy marriage Lee. 🙂

Leave a Reply

