Priorities in Illness

My Inspiration:

Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21

My thoughts:

I’ve heard from many people with chronic illness, specifically fibromyalgia, that one of the greatest blessings to come from illness is the necessity to create priorities in life. Most healthy people have adequate energy to spend on whatever they want throughout the day, but when you have limited energy, every choice is calculated. I am forced to think about the energy output of daily tasks which automatically helps me focus on the things that are truly important to me. That is a blessing. Not everyone is given that clarity in life.

It is frustrating when I don’t get the things done that I want to. I make a reasonable list everyday of the things that I would like to accomplish, but I am often forced to go back and whittle that list down to what absolutely has to be done and some days, I am forced to just say, none of it really matters and I stay in bed.

My relationship with God and my family are the most valuable things to me. I just don’t have the energy, physically or emotionally, for all the extras. Yes, I am robbed of some pleasure in this life, but my focus is clear and I am thankful for it.

It’s tempting to create our own agenda, spending time and effort on things that we think are good. Staying busy and perhaps not putting our focus where it should be. Our minds and hearts are full of “plans” as they should be, but seeking God’s purpose should be the driving force behind any plan. God’s purposes are good and right and holy. Even when we are tempted to disagree with what God allows in our life, it doesn’t change the fact that His purposes prevail.

Chronic illness forces us to create priorities in our physical life, but what is motivating us to make priorities in our spiritual life? I fight the noises inside my head that keep me from focusing spiritually. It’s not an easy thing to always trust that the Lord has purpose in chronic illness as part of His plan. I sometimes struggle to quiet the thoughts that want to be angry and bitter. Or even the everyday distractions that keep me from spending alone time with God. Brain fog can even make it hard to read my Bible. A genuine spiritual focus will bring our priorities in line with what God wants for us. But we will never know this unless we are in communion with Him, seeking His plans, His ways.

How can I bring glory to Him in my limited daily activities? How does He want me to prioritize my time? How can my agenda come in line with what He wants for me? These are sometimes tough questions, but worth the effort to consider. I pray that I will choose to seek Christ when prioritizing life’s activities and in my daily walk with Him. Plans are good, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.

Love and Blessings,
Ann

*If you liked this post, go read Learning To Say No.

8 thoughts on “Priorities in Illness

  1. Dear Ann
    Your blog hits close to my heart today. I think you mentioned in one of your previous blogs that fibro patients are often type A personality people. Well, I used to be one of those wanting to do and to be everything for everyone and all of that always! Today I realize that it was all due to deep insecurities and our Lord had to teach me with so much patience that nothing I do or don’t do will make Him love me any less or more. HE JUST LOVES me, because He is Love. That makes my heart so ful of joy, because I have learned that I definitely don’t have what it takes to what I thought I needed to be in order to be loved by my
    Heavenly Pappa. Thank you for reminding me of what is really important in life!!!

  2. Thanks Ann. Fibro/CFS has certainly slowed me down and mellowed me out. I used to care about all the wrong things. Now I appreciate everything I am able to do, even though it takes me twice as long to do half as much! I’ve noticed that God gives us strength to do what really needs to be done and the rest doesn’t matter. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Thanks for sharing! I did not know you had this health issue. I know you will encourage many.
    God is reminding me lately the most important way to spend my time is sitting at His feet…

  4. Thank you, Ann! And I thank my sweet friend, Brenda, for sharing this with me! As a sufferer of both, fibromyalgia and me/cfs, I was having an especially difficult day yesterday so your post is a timely blessing. Even when others in my life seem not to care, God is always reminding me the HE CARES…. through His Word, and through inspired writings of His devoted children (books such as Streams in the Desert, Jesus Calling, and Jesus Lives, among others). Thank you, Ann, for being one of those who encourages others! God bless you!

  5. Thank you for reminding me to focus on things that are TRULY important,not only to me but to God. Since I am a type A personality myself,I’ve had to remind myself that I don’t need to always have control over everything,but to give it over to the One who is!!

Leave a Reply

