Comfort and Compassion

My Inspiration:

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.
II Corinthians 1:3-4 

My Thoughts:

Comfort and Compassion. Father of Compassion. God of all Comfort.

God understands the human need for comfort and compassion. Not only is He omniscient, but we were made in His image.  He is the author of comfort and compassion.  So many times in my life, I have seen Him as the giver of these things. To me and to others. And in turn because we understand this human need and are the blessed recipients, we are then able to share these gifts with others.

I have experienced the comfort of my Lord countless times throughout the 16 year journey of fibromyalgia and cfs. In times of discouragement and despair. In times of emotional hurt and physical pain. In times of depression. In times of overwhelming fatigue. Knowing He is there, listening and caring for me, brings peace.

The words of God comfort me. I love to surround myself with His words of promise. For even though He has chosen me to walk through the hardship of chronic illness, His promise to be with me brings comfort. The New Testament is filled with examples where Jesus offers comfort to hurting people. From healing the sick to feeding the hungry, Jesus set a wonderful example for us. He knew how to comfort people. And meditating on His words of comfort for others offers comfort to me. He is a loving and compassionate Saviour!

Matthew 14:13-14
When Jesus heard what had happened, he withdrew by boat privately to a solitary place. Hearing of this, the crowds followed him on foot from the towns. When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick.
And then He went on to feed them because they were hungry. Compassion for the hungry. Comfort for the sick and hurting.

I have been blessed to receive comfort from family and friends through difficult times. Sometimes, God uses people to comfort us. Comfort from God, through friends. Love that. It’s like a double hug! Not to say there aren’t times when we feel lonely and afraid, but in those times if we will cling to His Words and trust, His comfort will abound.

My dad had quadruple bypass surgery last week. It was sudden and surprising. It was a time full of anxiety and fear, for all of us. I was blessed to be the recipient of comfort last week. So many people outpouring their love, thoughts and prayers to my dad and to us, his family. It is a wonderful thing to be a part of the body of Christ. Jesus set the example and so many have followed with compassion. By offering comfort to the hurting.

Dad is on the road to recovery. It will be slow and long. We are praying for no complications. Thank you to those who have asked about him and have been praying for him. Keep it up!  And many thanks to those who have lived out the mission of comfort and compassion to our family.

Many Blessings,
Ann 🙂

Is there a specific moment where you remember you felt the comfort of God? or were overwhelmed by the compassion of a friend? Share your encouraging stories with us!

7 thoughts on “Comfort and Compassion

  1. Dear Ann
    I am so glad to hear that your father are making good progress. Yes, our Lord are the most amazing Comforter. I remember once when the fibro pain was totally overwhelming. I just went to bed and asked our Pappa God to hold and comfort me. Mercifully I fell asleep and not long afterwards I woke up feeling my husband holding me in his arms. It was quite dark but when I could see properly I saw my hubbie lying on his side of the bed, not even touching me. Then I heard God whispering softly that it was Him holding me just as I had asked. That was truly a WOW moment ! ! Thank you for sharing His comfort with us even though you are going through a difficult time. We will keep on praying for your family. Mia

  2. Thanks Ann. My prayers are with you in this time for your father’s healing. My mom went through that too as well as a valve repair at the same time. She lived many years beyond that surgery so it is so wonderful the things they can do medically now. Mia, I loved your story too. So thank you both for making me think about compassion today and the wonderful and constant care of our gracious and loving Lord. Blessings, Kathy

  3. Mia, I too have felt God’s arms about me in a time pain, mine was emotional pain, and a feeling that my life was over and no use to God anymore. God is gracious and loving. We are so blessed to have a God who cares. Thanks Ann, for sharing your heart.

  4. Denise, how wonderful to hear that at the time that you thought you were of no use to God, you were of so much use to Him that he was cuddling you in His arms. I think that you gave Him so much joy by asking Him to hold you. Lots of love. Mia

  5. Just come across this blog. I love that 2 Cor passage – the image of the comfort of God flowing from Him, through us, to others.

    Very excited to have seen you – I also love singing opera (mezzo soprano, though i’m not nearly as well-trained as you!) and also have CFS (housebound with it, partially bed-bound). Fun, fun…

    And I also blog! I blog on the Bible, suffering, and the messy edges of life, reflecting on my experience of having CFS and thinking through theologies of suffering.

    I’m in the UK – waving to you across an ocean. Much love.

  6. Hi Tanya!!! So glad you found us! I jumped over and read your blog for a bit and wish we could meet and sit down for a chat. You are a gifted writer! Very happy that we have connected!!!

    Love and Blessings from here in the USA!

    Ann

Leave a Reply

