Guest Post: Seasons of Fibromyalgia

I am so excited to be posting our first guest blog from my “invite to write”.  I know that my blog readers will enjoy hearing from other readers.  This makes me happy!!!  Thank you to Mia for being willing to share her beautifully written devotional.  I hope you are encouraged – and please leave Mia some love in the comments! 🙂

INTRODUCTION
I am a 49 year old fibromite from South Africa. My hometown is the beautiful little coastal town of Gonubie about 20 km from East London. We are so blessed to stay about 200 meters from the sea. I am married to my teenage sweetheart of 27 years and we have two precious sons. The oldest is a fourth year architecture student at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth and the youngest is taking a gap year, waitering in PE. My hobbies include knitting, cross stitching, sewing,art, writing and cooking. I am a housewife and love it! My husband is the love of my life, my best friend and so special.

DEVOTIONAL
The Scripture reading comes from Eccles. 3:1-8 : A Time for Everything.

This is the first devotional I have ever written. Looking at Solomon’s wisdom, I want to thank Ann for giving me a place to share my time to encourage others with the same encouragement God has given me and for sharing with you one of my passions: writing.

I was diagnosed with FM about 6 years ago and have gone through many, many fibroseasons during which God has carried me with more patience and love than what I allowed for myself. I think I am finally entering my season of the new normal. Ann, I love that description! I would like to share with my fellow fibromites the seasons of fibromyalgia that I have experienced.

The first season that I think we all go through is the cold, dark frightening winter of this unknown visitor that causes so much pain. The icy cold fear of pain, exhaustion of night-after-night of insomnia and so many other terrible symptoms often lead you to the road of extreme loneliness and despair. The skepticism of the people around you does NOT contribute to your wellbeing. Usually the doctor’s conclusion of that-all-in-your-head kind of thing is the last straw that makes you doubt your own sanity. The emotional hurt can be even be more severe and frightening than the physical symptoms and most often much harder to bear. It seems that you are sooooo alone; struggling through thick layers of snow without even one ray of sunshine to bring just a little warmth of relief.

Dear Ones, when you are in the midst of your own severe winter season, you are never alone. Your Lord is walking with you every single step of the way. Be patient with yourself even if you are the only one and allow your roots to grow deep into our Wonderful Saviour, our Lord Jesus. Let your lives be built upon Him. He knows pain and suffering and understands exactly what you are going through. Ps 22 gives a good description of His own pain, suffering and loneliness He went through. Commit your spirit into His Hands like He did His into our Father’s Hands. Remember His great, great love for you and His tender, gentle smile of joy when He looks at you. He lovingly collects all your tears and saves them in a special jar marked with your name.

Remember that this is just a season, a time and He created it all; not to stay, but to pass. Only He is Eternal. During my own winter I went through so many conflicting indescribable emotions of terror, anger, rebellion at life and so many more that I was totally unfamiliar with. Eventually the extreme darkness was slowly replaced by greys and browns of discouragement, despair, hopelessness and loneliness and later with beautiful dark, rich reds, oranges, blues, greens as our Good Shepherd started leading me on a wonderful inward journey to springs and waters of refreshment and rest, where he fed my soul with Himself. What a Saviour, what a Friend and God! The seasons were changing.

My first fibro spring started mercifully with a diagnosis by a rheumatologist in Port Elizabeth. For me it was profound and so liberating. I was not insane neither a hypochondriac. I had permission to suffer without having to make excuses whenever some one was enquiring about my illness. Some colors started creeping back into my life. Spring flowers of joy started to bloom where there was only a dead winter landscape of depression.

For those ladies (and gents) going through this season, I want to encourage you to keep your eyes and thoughts on our Heavenly Gardener who is creating a beautiful garden in your soul. This season is necessary for cultivating all the lush green foliage He is preparing.

Through both these seasons I was startled by all the feelings that I experienced, especially the intensity of emotions it caused. When I realized that they were all also created by Our Father as a gift of mercy to help me cope with the illness, my summer started.

In a next devotional I would love to share the next two seasons.
(Mia has done such a great job that I am allowing her to submit another devotional to be published later in the summer. Stay tuned!)

Lots of warm love and blessings from a cold South Africa.
Mia de Vries

If this blog post encouraged you today, please encourage Mia by leaving her a comment!  🙂  If you would like to contact her personally, her email address is:  meraai.devries@gmail.com

15 thoughts on “Guest Post: Seasons of Fibromyalgia

  1. Mia, The words you use to express yourself and your journey through FM paint a beautiful picture of how you have grown closer and closer to the Lord. Amazing! Don’t we have a Wonderful God! It is such a great blessing to hear from someone in South Africa! Isn’t the internet world a great gift by which we can encourage and get to know others so far away from our own world. Thank you so much for sharing your heart with us. Denise

    • Denise, thank you for your kind words. Yes, I was so busy with what I thought the things of God, that I am so grateful for His patience. Even though FM is a terrible disease I wonder if I would have grown so close to Him if I were healthy. I am also so grateful for technology for although we live in different continents I can feel the bond of The Holy Spirit.

  2. Mia….your words of encouragement were just beautiful! I can relate to this disease as seasons…makes it so much easier to take! I look forward to hearing more inspirational words from you… Gods blessings! amy

    • Amy, thank you for your encouraging words. Yes, taking FM in small packages does make it more bearable. Like Abraham I think we are quite uncertain of what lies ahead, but we know Him who walks with us. I am glad that you could relate to the heart of my writing.

  3. Mia,
    It was such a blessing to wake up this morning and read this beautiful testimony to the awesome grace of God. You have expressed in words how I myself and I am sure countless others have journeyed through these “seasons” of FM, with our Lord and Savior by our sides. It is SO encouraging to me to hear from another who is walking through their life with FM and reaching out for their strength and hope in Christ, and lives in South Africa. Just a little reminder from God that we are not alone and HE is our strength and hope and life! May God continue to bless you as you encourage and bless those whose life you touch with HIS grace and mercy!

  4. Sharon, I love your beautiful smile. To me it is such a good example of what I was trying to capture with the blooming spring flowers in my writings. Yes, the seasons of FM take us through deep valleys of suffering, but even the worst winter makes way for a bright summer
    I just feel in my heart that you are so familiar with what I was trying to capture in the devotional.

  5. Mia, thank you for your beautiful words acknowledging the suffering but finding a Living Hope in our Saviour, Jesus Christ! Please continue to write and encourage us as you have been given a gift to bless others — the gift of writing.
    Grace & peace to you,

    Shelley Kemp

    • Shelly, thank you for your wonderful, encouraging words. I so appreciate your gift of serving others with your loving heart. I am so overwhelmed by all the love that I have received from you all. Thank you!!!

  6. Mia, I so related to your seasons and after 25 years of Fibromyalgia, have at last, I think come to a season of acceptance and grace. God is so good in blessing us with his daily presence and peace. Thank you so much for sharing.
    Blessings,
    Kathy Chesley, God’s Struggler

  7. Kathy, I just googled your website last night and admired that wonderful lady. Yes, dear one, it is hard and the seasons, as I think you know by now, keeps on repeating, but thanks to our
    Lord Jesus they do become easier in the sense that we start to understand this ever present companion. I have learned to crawl deep into our Pappa’s Arms when I need comfort. Thank you for your loving words.

  8. Thank you for your beautiful description of the pain and fear of fibro and illness. it made me feelo connected and not alone.

    • Oh, Lucy, how I wish I could just hold you in big hug! Don’t feel alone dear one. If you need to talk remember we are here. Just send an email. Lots of love. Mia

  9. Pingback: Guest Post: Seasons of Fibromyalgia (Part 2) | Restoring My Soul

Leave a Reply

