Peace, Be Still

My Inspiration:

Then He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!” And the wind ceased and there was a great calm. But He said to them, “Why are you so fearful? How is it that you have no faith?” And they feared exceedingly, and said to one another, “Who can this be, that even the wind and the sea obey Him!”
Matthew 4:39-41

My Thoughts:

What brings you peace? In a physical sense. What do you like to do that makes your body feel peaceful, relaxed, and tranquil? A massage? A nap? A good book? A nature walk? And does finding physical peace bring peace to your soul? For me it does! Putting myself in a position where my surroundings are peaceful, brings a peace to my heart and mind. An ability to think clearly, meditate, pray, or express gratefulness. To weed out the stresses and worries of life and bring a renewed focus on the things that are important.

Most of the time physical peace, for me, is silence. Pure, sweet silence. I crave it. (Kids are noisy!) Other times, I long for nature. Walking on a dirt road in the forest, sitting on top of a mountain and enjoying the view, watching the sunset at the beach or overlooking a field covered in fresh, white snow. Just the thought of doing these things make me feel more peaceful.

I am writing this blog from a bench that is along the bay waters of the Gulf of Mexico. I am overlooking a marina filled with beautiful, expensive yachts, listening to the birds, feeling the warm afternoon sun on my skin, and enjoying the ocean breeze. I feel peaceful. My body is relaxed. I am breathing fresh air and getting Vitamin D on my skin. I can hear my thoughts. They aren’t cluttered with the business of life. I thank God for this moment. I wish I could do this more often. It feels like therapy – medicine for the body and soul. God’s creation is so amazingly complex. At times it is powerful, today it is peaceful. I am reminded of the time that Jesus and His disciples were in the boat and a powerful storm was raging all around them. The disciples were scared, fearful. And Jesus calmed the raging seas with a simple “Peace, be still.”

Oh, Lord Jesus, let there be peace and stillness in my heart. Even amid the crazy and loud lifestyle. Even when there is pain, fatigue, and uncertainty. Even when the frustration over a body that won’t work is overwhelming. Even when there is deep heartache and loss. Even when the stresses of life seem so important. Help me to trust not only in the good times, but also in the storms. And to know that You are in control of it all.

One thought on “Peace, Be Still

  1. I know exactly what you mean when you say there are certain places/creation that bring you more peace. One of my favorites is being near moving water (a waterfall, a river rushing or meandering over rocks, the waves on the beach, sitting on the swing watching a good downpour).
    Is 6:4 says that the seraphs sang ‘Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord Almighty! The WHOLE EARTH IS FILLED WITH HIS GLORY!’ His creation is filled with His glory. My deep human need to experience God is met in these times and that’s when the Peace comes.
    Thank you for sharing…..I kinda felt like I was sitting quietly there on the bench with you!

Leave a Reply

