Tuesday Tip – Finding Support

This is my precious family – all of them!  What a blessing to have this many people in my life who love and support me!  I am blessed! (and exhausted!) Someone commented to me that we look like “the perfect” family.  Well, let me just tell you that we stood there and took 55 photos in this same spot and only ONE of them turned out! 🙂  Does that tell you anything?  And if you need any more assurance that we are not the perfect family you can go read my husband’s humorous blog stuffboysdo.com.

But as imperfect as we are, I love them all so much and I am so thankful! I don’t take for granted that I have people in my life that will love and support me through all the valleys of life.  It is a gift that I treasure.  I cannot leave out my parents who are a HUGE support system for me as I raise five children and struggle with my health.  I am so thankful for all their love and support.  I often wonder what people with cfs or fibromyalgia do when they don’t have that support system in their lives.  Maybe some of you fit in that category.

I don’t believe I have any great words of wisdom on the subject, I just want to make a point that a support system is necessary.  If you have cfs or fibromyalgia, you need or will need people in your life to support you through the very tough times.  We know that God’s grace is all sufficient through all of life’s trials, but I believe that He uses others to help us along the way.  You may ask, how do I find support if I don’t have any?  or I’ve tried, but no one really understands.  Here’s just a few things that come to mind.  I hope it is useful to you today.

1.  Pray about it.   I once spent years praying that God would bring me a friend that could understand me just the way I am.  Illness and all.  I said YEARS!  And in His time, He brought me just the person I needed.

2.  Seek it.  Investing in relationships is hard.  It takes a lot of energy and sometimes it just doesn’t work out and that can be discouraging.  A man who has friends must himself be friendly…(Prov. 18:24)  I think the best support comes from people who can relate to what you are going through – someone who perhaps has an illness as well, a compassionate friend from church, a person from a support group, an online friend that has fibro, a family member who loves you unconditionally and wants to help.  You have to proactively seek these people out.

3.  You need the outlet.  Having someone who can help you physically is a huge blessing, but more than that, I think most of us just need a place of understanding.  A safe, soft relationship where you can vent, cry, pray, and be understood.  I believe that having that outlet helps with the stress which ultimately helps with wellness.

4.  Fight discouragement.  I’ve read on numerous social networking sites that so many of you struggle with family members not being supportive and just down right not believing you.  WOW!  That has got to be so hard and so discouraging!  Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ ( Isaiah 41:10)

5.  Lean on the Lord.  …But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.
(Prov. 18:24)
  God has promised to always be there for us.  We can always call on Him in our hour of need.  Even when we don’t feel His presence, He is there, and we need to cling to His promise.  Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.
(Deuteronomy 31:6)


I pray you have found a support person(s) for your journey of illness.  If not, keep asking the Lord to bring that special person to you.  With or without earthly support, our greatest help comes from our Lord.  I will lift up my eyes to the hills, From whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth. (Psalm 121:1-2)

Leave a Reply

