My Beloved

My Inspiration:

My Beloved
By Kari Jobe

My Thoughts:

Last week, I had a day. A day where I let the pity party set in. You know the ones where you allow the bitterness to sneak in. Why is illness being allowed to prevent me from enjoying my life? It keeps me from doing things. Good things. God honoring things. Why would He allow that to happen? Doesn’t He want me to use my time and talent for Him? Why would he throw an illness at me that often prevents me from serving Him? I allowed myself to be angry, to vent, to feel, and I sat in it for a little while…

Then the answers came to me, as they always do. His purposes are different than ours, greater than ours. His ways are good and right. He loves me far beyond what I can imagine. In my earthly mind, I cannot comprehend why He allows “bad things” to happen to His children, but I trust Him. I do. He is God, He knows, and He has a plan. A plan that brings good out of things we can’t understand.

My favorite section of this song is:

I’ll breathe My life inside of you
I’ll bear you up on eagle’s wings
And hide you in the shadow of My strength
I’ll take you to My quiet waters
I’ll restore your soul
Come rest in Me and be made whole

These lyrics are taken right from the pages of Scripture. I’ll restore your soul – I’m really fond of this one, especially on the bad days. But amid the self pity, doubt, and temptation of bitterness, He still loves me and He calls me His beloved.  This song makes me cry. (Don’t they all? 🙂 ) A love song from God to us.  Listen, meditate, praise, and know that you are a beloved child of God.  I hope it encourages you today.

You’re My Beloved
You’re My Bride
To sing over you is My delight
Come away with Me My love

You’re Beautiful to Me
So beautiful to Me

Under My mercy
Come and wait
Till we are standing face to face
I see no stain on you my child

You’re Beautiful to Me
So Beautiful to Me

I sing over you My song of peace
Cast all your care down at My feet
Come and find your rest in Me

I’ll breathe My life inside of you
I’ll bear you up on eagle’s wings
And hide you in the shadow of My strength
I’ll take you to My quiet waters
I’ll restore your soul
Come rest in Me and be made whole

You’re My beloved
You’re My Bride
To sing over you is my delight
Come away with me my love

8 thoughts on “My Beloved

  1. What a beautiful song/musical meditation, Ann! Thank you! I’ve had to miss church for almost 2 months now & I have felt sorry for myself (off and on) as well. I’m just coming out of a time of “flared up” symptoms & it gets discouraging, I know, at times. I go to the Psalms and remind myself of the strong emotions poured out by David (and others) and then, the words of “reorientation” to the Lord’s will and purposes. Daily I am seeking shelter under the shadow of His Wings.

    • Oh Shelley, I am sorry that you are in a big flare! Missing church is really hard, but your attitude is a wonderful testimony. The Psalms are a great source of comfort for me too! I also enjoy reading Job and hearing how he poured his heart out to the Lord. It makes me feel human – that these men of God had very strong emotions during tough times. Thank you for taking the time to share with us!
      I am fortunate that my church offers live streaming video of our services via internet. If you ever want to join us for online worship, you can find the link at olivebaptist.org and click on live streaming. Services are 9:30AM and 11AM Central Time. I hope and pray that you come out of the flare soon and are able to worship at your own church soon!

  2. I love this song! Kari Jobe is one of my favorite singers! Both my brother and mother suffer from fibromyaligia. Praying God brings you peace and relief from your pain!

  3. Thanks for sharing this. You ARE serving the Lord, because YOU are ministering His grace in the midst of unwellness to the rest of us. I so needed this good message of yours today. Thanks to the Lord for you and your blog. Blessings in Christ!

  4. Thank you for sharing, Ann. That’s one of my favorite songs as well! My journey with chronic pain sounds very similar to what you are going through – we should talk about it sometime! I’ve had few pity parties myself recently and God’s been teaching me to take things one day at a time. I love what Paul says in 2 Corinthians 12:9-10, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Leave a Reply

