Rest For Your Soul

My Inspiration:

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.   Matthew 11:28-29

My Thoughts:

One of my main struggles with having fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome is not having the energy to do what I want to do. I’m not talking about the frivolous things – I’m talking about everyday life things. After 16 years, I still find this hard to accept. I have a house to run and kids to take care of. I can’t do what I need to do to be the wife and mother that I WANT to be! This is the job that God has called me to and I am so frustrated that I can’t complete tasks to my personal satisfaction.

It is a constant battle in my head. Why can’t I follow my organized schedule? Why is it so hard for me to do mundane tasks? Why can’t I get it all done? Because I DON’T HAVE THE ENERGY AND I’M IN PAIN- that’s why!!! Most days I roll with it, but some days are just maddening and extremely frustrating. I want to do my job well and I often have to settle for mediocre, sometimes poor. (This is especially true of bathtubs and kitchen floors!!!) It’s enough to drive a perfectionist crazy! 🙂

God didn’t call me to be a PERFECT wife and mother. If I was, would there be a reason to depend on Him? Chronic illness can be a blessing in that way. I am limited. Actually, we all are, chronic illness or not, but when the limitations stare me in the face everyday, I find there is more clarity in the choices I make. Choosing to invest time into what really matters versus holding a high standard of perfection for myself.

I can sometimes be stubborn, controlling and want to do it my way. God has taught me that when I have a sense of control over things, I then want to take the credit. It can lead to a smug, self satisfaction. In those situations, God gets cut out of the picture. It is my everyday obvious limitations that prompt me to surrender to His plan. I am not forced to surrender, I am simply reminded to. Fighting against it just causes more frustration and ultimately bitterness. A hard, yet valuable lesson to learn.

There are thoughts inside my head that say, you should be able to get it all done, you’re not good enough. If you didn’t have chronic illness, you could have it all. Those thoughts are paralyzing lies. They prevent me from resting in the Lord, from trusting in Him and His plan. It is when I fight these battles in my mind, that verses like Matthew 11:28-29 bring great comfort. God calls us to come to Him with all our burdensome thoughts, desires, habits, doubts, and fears. He WANTS us to come to Him and surrender these burdens to Him. To know Him, to love Him, to trust in Him! I encourage you today, for whatever burden you carry, for whatever reason you need rest in your soul, call upon our Lord. He promises to give you rest today.

Anyone else have struggles with chronic illness and caring for the home and family? And the frustrations that come along with it? Share with us!

Rest Ministries chronic illness support featured site

10 thoughts on “Rest For Your Soul

  1. I have not had fibromyalgia very long but I appreciate your blog so much. It has helped me more that words can express. Thank you for what you do and my the Lord bless you everyday!

  2. Ann, thank you for sharing. Minus having FM I struggle with the similar thoughts. “Why can’t I get all that I NEED to get done accomplished in a day?? What’s wrong with me? You don’t have a reason not to be able to get your closet or pantry organized?” When I buy into these lies they make me feel overwhelmed and more crippling they make me feel worthless.
    I often refer back to this quote by CS Lewis “The ALMOST impossible thing, is to hand over your whole self (all your wishes and precautions) to Christ…. Until you have given up yourself to HIM you will not have a real self.”

  3. Ann, thank you so much for your blog. I have FMS and Interstitial Cystitis and totally relate to having a list for the day and maybe only completing one thing (the floors are still dirty 🙂 You encourage me to look for God’s hope in my chronic illnesses.
    Thank you!

  4. Ann, beautifully written and oh so true. I deal with this each day, especially the exhaustion since my son had a week off of school last week. thank you for sharing your heart and reminding me to SEARCH for those blessings because they may not always be obvious! Welcome to our link party. SO GLAD to have you. I love your writing.

  5. I appreciate very much what you’ve written!! I’ve had fibro for 30 years. It was such a struggle while I was raising my two now mostly grown kiddoes… But I found that the Lord used my pain and fatigue to slow down this naturally very administrative and task-oriented person (that’d be me) such that I could learn to sit still with and listen to my children. That was a hard lesson…’cause I had to do stuff and stuff to do! But, wow, am I ever thankful to the Lord for this lesson… The results are that I am blessed with great relationships with my two young adult children. I think they wouldn’t feel as free to come to me and ask me about life if the Lord hadn’t used my illnesses to teach me to sit still and listen. So, He turned my frustrations over the years into flowers, I guess I could say. Thanks so much for your wonderful blog! Blessings in Christ!!

Leave a Reply

