Tuesday Tip – Deep Breathing, Part 1

I use deep, abdominal breathing as part of my routine to help control my fibromyalgia and cfs symptoms. I wasn’t quite sure how to explain it in a blog post so, I googled deep breathing and discovered an abundance of information floating out there in cyberspace. The majority of the articles I found, explain how beneficial deep breathing is for overall health and wellness, not just for the ill, but for everyone.

Breathing techniques can be used for stress relief, anxiety reduction, pain reduction, relaxation, clearer thinking, and general health improvement. Breathing is a natural thing we all do everyday without thinking about, but learning to utilize deep breathing can bring many health benefits. It is a very easy thing to learn that doesn’t take much time to actually do and it has tremendous benefits for both physical and emotional health. It is especially good for controlling pain and anxiety, something people with fibro and cfs often struggle with.

Whenever I feel the downward spiral, you know that feeling that invades your body when you’ve overdone it or are about to head into a flare. Or when you’ve hit the wall for the day, but you still have things left to do. In these moments, I instinctively lay down and start deep, abdominal breathing. It is something I have done for years, not because I researched it, but just because I know it works. I have a personal story to share with you, but you’ll have to wait until next Tuesday to hear it. (I didn’t want to make this post too long!) Next week, I’ll share my personal experiences with deep breathing and how I discovered “by accident” that it really helps me! Stay tuned! 🙂

Here are a few links that I found to help educate you on abdominal or belly breathing. If this interests you, these links would be a good place to start. I am not a fan of yoga, it moves too slowly for me, but I have found that these two yoga videos explain the deep abdominal breath very simply. This is basically what I do. Lie down. Close my eyes. Consciously relax every muscle in the body. And do long, slow abdominal breathing. It is calming. It will often bring energy and allow my body to move past “crisis mode”.
Belly Breathing Technique
Belly Breath

If you want to read about the health benefits of deep breathing, these two articles are good.
http://www.onepowerfulword.com/2010/10/18-benefits-of-deep-breathing-and-how.html

http://www.womentowomen.com/fatigueandstress/deepbreathing.aspx

Deep breathing is not a cure, it’s not going to make you better, but it is another tool that you can use for symptom relief. Blessings to all of you as you continue this journey! – Ann

*Trying these exercises for too long or without proper education could result in hyperventiilation.  Please proceed cautiously! And read my policy page!

Update: If you want to read Deep Breathing, Part 2 go here.

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Tip – Deep Breathing, Part 1

  1. Ann;
    Thank you for reminding me about the benefits of properly executed deep breathing. Both of the websites were great! I emailed the 18 benefits to myself. I also wrote down(printer not working) the steps on how to breathe properly and will keep it on the fridge so I can remember to schedule deep breathing every day. It REALLY, REALLY helps decrease anxiety and pain. It just has to be done properly or you will hyperventilate and make yourself even more anxious. I have done that. Thanks again!
    Karen
    By the way I live in Orlando, Fl. I am a native Floridian. I see you live in the panhandle. I lived in Appalachicola for a short while.

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tip – Breathing, Part 2 | Restoring My Soul

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Tip – Vacation!!!! | Restoring My Soul

Leave a Reply

