Beyond My Understanding

My Inspiration:

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-7 

My Thoughts:

My worst experiences with chronic fatigue syndrome came in 1996-1997. I was completely bedridden, but at the same time I was a brand new bride.  I was full of mixed emotions.  Elated to be married to the love of my life and completely broken-hearted that I was so ill.  During that dark time, there was a song that I listened to repeatedly. It was not a “popular” song, but a song that was on a college recording that brought me great comfort. Today, I am sharing the words of that song with you. I hope you find comfort in these words of truth and cling to the verse in Philippians that it was taken from. We don’t always understand the things that God allows in our lives, but He promises a peace beyond our understanding. I pray you are surrounded by God’s peace today!

Beyond My Understanding
By Randy Vader

In the depth of all my pain, I long to hear Your voice.
To know that blessed assurance, for the freedom to rejoice.
I want to know Your purpose, I want to comprehend Your plan.
To know the peace that passes, what I will never understand.

Beyond my understanding, beyond the scope of what I see,
lies a promise for the claiming of God’s peace that’s meant for me.
Like a cool refreshing fountain, like the calm of a silent sea,
Beyond my understanding God’s peace waits for me.

Lord I give you all my failures, and I give You all my loss.
I take the pain within me, and I lay it at Your cross.
I will not pick it up again. I leave it all behind.
I learn to trust and to obey and to claim Your peace as mine.

Beyond my understanding, beyond the scope of what I see,
lies a promise for the claiming of God’s peace that’s meant for me.
Like a cool refreshing fountain, like the calm of a silent sea,
Beyond my understanding God’s peace waits for me.

Peace, Peace, wonderful peace, coming down from the Father above.
Sweep over my spirit, forever I pray, in fathomless billows of love.

Like a cool refreshing fountain, like the calm of a silent sea,
Beyond my understanding, God’s peace waits for me.

4 thoughts on “Beyond My Understanding

  1. Beautiful words! Thank you for sharing them. I see my rheumatologist tomorrow to get back on my fibro meds. Rough few months and struggles with fibro has allowed depression to creep back in. Again, great words and perfect timing!

    • Sorry for your struggles recently, Stacey. I think sometimes the depression is the worst part of it. I hope and pray you have a productive doctor’s appointment and that he/she helps you get back on track. Prayers!!!

  2. Wow! Great song! But what amazes me most, is that it seems we were both in that passage today!! My blog was about taking it to Him and actually LEAVING it there, something I fail to do so often. But I too, was struck by the fact that His PEACE is there for us, all we have to do is take Him up on it, and turn it all over to Him. Great thoughts, Ann, thanks for sharing, and for the song as well! Love you!

Leave a Reply

