Tuesday Tip – Vitamins and Natural Supplements

I am very sensitive to most prescription medications, so I prefer to seek out answers that involve vitamins, natural supplements, or lifestyle choices. I often find the meds to have worse side effects than the original ailment. Have you read the warnings that come with those things? 🙂 I am not against prescription meds and I know that there is a need for them – they serve a great purpose, but if I can avoid them, I will. I am fortunate that over the counter pain relievers work for me. I know that is not the case for everyone and stronger pain relief is needed. Like I’ve said before, everyone’s journey is different.

I am not going to write about all the suggested vitamins and natural supplements that have potential to help fibro and/or cfs – that’s what search engines are for! 🙂 There is a ton of info out there! This blog post is simply to encourage you by sharing that I HAVE found success with vitamins and natural supplements and I want to encourage you to keep looking, keep researching, keep trying, until you stumble across something that helps you.

Vitamin D is getting a great amount of press lately. The concensus is that our society at large is Vitamin D deficient.  Vitamin D aids many systems in our body, including our immune system. In other words, they are finding that it is an essential part to the well being and health of all of us. There is much information on the web about the relationship between Vitamin D and fibromyalgia, specifically pain levels. If you have not read about this connection before, here are a few good articles that I have found:
http://chronicfatigue.about.com/b/2011/01/25/vitamin-d-for-fibromyalgia-chronic-fatigue-syndrome.htm

http://vitamind3blog.com/2011/03/vitamin-d3-fibromyalgia/

I asked my doctor to test my Vitamin D levels in the fall of 2010 and my level was 33. There is debate in the medical community what the optimal Vitamin D range truly is. Some say it needs to be greater than 30, some say greater than 50. Either way, I fit into the LOW category, so after procrastinating for a year, I am now supplementing with Vitamin D. I live in Florida, but avoid the sun because of skin cancer risks, but I am now finding that the best way for the body to absorb Vitamin D is by 10-15 minutes of sun exposure a day without sunscreen.  Gonna have to put that on my “to do” list!

I take a really good multi vitamin – the kind you get at a health food store. My B vitamins are on the low side, so I have been experimenting with sublingual Vitamin B (not sure it is doing me any good, but going to give it more time). Having so many babies in a row depleted my iron levels which left me anemic, so I take iron. I recently ordered some krill (fish) oil supplements, because I have read so many great things about it for overall health. I’m in process of trying those with my husband. Good for heart and brain health. Maybe it’ll improve the fibro fog!!! Hope so!

I recently had a sinus infection and was on two rounds of antibiotics, which totally messed with my stomach. So, I started researching probiotics to combat the antibiotic damage. I found this great study about people with chronic fatigue syndrome taking probiotics and it helped with their anxiety and depression. There is new research saying that “the gut” acts as our second brain and a healthy gut has improved depression/anxiety in all kinds of people, not just those with cfs. So, after reading this study, I started probiotics. I’m gonna give this a try, since anxiety is a major symptom for me. I am hopeful!!! Read about the study here: http://hbcprotocols.com/probioticarticle/

I did some research and these seem to be the most effective of the non-refrigerated probiotics and what I am currently taking.  Enzymatic Therapy Acidophilus Pearls
I also take a product called Tranquil Sleep. It is a combination of 5htp, melatonin, and L-theanine. I take ¼ of the recommended dose because as I said earlier – my system is totally sensitive – I took a full dose once and couldn’t wake up the next morning! I’ve used it for several months and I like it. It really helps me to fall asleep and I’m sticking with it!

Everyone has a different journey. What works for me, may not work for you. Please take the time to get your vitamin levels checked and go over them with your doctor. It is not a cure, but it is a place to start. Start with taking vitamins and maybe move into taking herbal supplements that make sense for your symptoms. It is worth a try. Also, not all herbs are made the same. Do your research and buy a quality product! It can be expensive, so be judicious in your selections of things to try. Read a lot! I have thrown supplements in the trash that didn’t work. I don’t like throwing money away, but I can’t sit still and do nothing. I keep trying for wellness and along the way I have found a lot of things that help and are working. But I’ve been at this for 16 years, so that’s a lot of trial and error!

Check out these articles for some good fibromyalgia herbal information:
http://chronicfatigue.about.com/od/treatingfmscfs/a/supplements.htm

http://www.webmd.com/fibromyalgia/guide/fibromyalgia-herbs-and-supplements

Be patient and give these things time to work. It takes time to figure out what might work for you. Pray about it and ask God for wisdom. Ask for guidance to vitamins and supplements that will benefit you. And wisdom to find a doctor that can help you. Over time, you may find some really great aids that help you on this journey and that is the whole goal! Be well!

*Please check with your doctor before starting any new vitamin or herbal regiman. Herbs should not be mixed with prescription drugs. Please check with your doctor. And read my policy page before trying any of my personal remedies. Thanks!

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Tip – Vitamins and Natural Supplements

  1. Just discovered your page…insomnia is rearing its ugly head tonight. Thank you for being such a blessing! I’ve read a lot of your postings and they have been very helpful. I am currently taking quite a number of prescription medications for my fibro and all of the other conditions that come along with it. None of it seems to be helping anymore. I plan on meeting with my doctor to see if I can start some more natural products. Like you, I have spent many years of trial and error. It’s great to know I’m not alone in this world. My faith has been taking a beating because it’s been a rough winter. I still work a 50+ hr/wk job and am responsible for quite a number of duties at church. (I still can’t say no to ministry and it gets my body into lots of trouble.) I will pray that your site helps many others. Thanks again!

  2. Wow you sound a lot like me with the sensitivity to meds…I can’t even take Excedrin Back and Body without my heart racing from the caffeine that’s in it. I too usually take vitamins and minerals/spices to help with what I have a problem with. Cinnamon to boost circulation, turmeric for immune system defects. The last time I had my D levels checked I was a 16! I was really surprised considering how fair skinned I am. But I guess with homeschooling and housekeeping I don’t get out as much as I like to. Today’s blog has helped me and I thank you for writing it! May God bless your search for wisdom in taking care of “the temple”. Have a great day!

    • Thanks for your encouragement, Rebecca! I am very caffeine sensitive too – sends my heart racing! I can relate to that! I have been meaning to try cinnamon for blood sugar levels. Your comment reminded me of that – I’ll have to do some research. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  3. I’ve really worked on changing my diet, too and that has helped lessen some of the symptoms. I now eat no sugar/no yeast/no dairy/no taste 🙂 — just kidding on that last one. It’s called an anti-fungal diet and it seems to help my body have less inflammation. The problem is I love desserts and I love to bake them. . . at Christmas, I went back to baking and giving cookies as gifts, which I love to do but of course, I have to taste the product before it goes out, and so, I was sick in bed for the whole month of January (sinus infection/cough/fever). When I’m faithful with the eating plan, it does make a difference for me — not a cure but it allows my head to feel clearer.

    • This is interesting, Shelley. I recently have been wondering if changing my eating habits would help. I have tried in the past with no success. Like you, baking for my family and eating treats is such a pleasure for me. I would hate to give that up!!! I don’t have a weight issue and I prepare meals for 6 other people in this house. I just see it as a huge mountain and don’t know if it would be worth the effort! If I was guaranteed a cure from eating a strict diet, I would do it, but to just HOPE to feel better…not so sure. Thanks for posting! Some food for thought!!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Wisdom in 2013 | Restoring My Soul

Leave a Reply

