Running The Race

My Inspiration:

Hebrews 12:1-2

…let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

My Thoughts:

I used to be an athlete. I could beat most of my peers in any type of sprint (we didn’t have track) and I played on my high-school basketball team. I wasn’t that great of a player, but I was extremely competitive and tenacious on the court and I still have some skills that can keep up with my hubby in a game of “horse”. 🙂 Since diagnosed with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome, I no longer do anything overly aerobic. I can still shoot hoops with the kids in the driveway, but could never do a pick-up game that involved any kind of running. First of all I am out of shape, and second, my body just can’t handle it. Sometimes I feel like a 37 year old woman trapped in an 80 year old body. Anyone else feel that way?

It seems that a lot of my friends/acquaintances have taken up running. Like serious running. I just had a friend complete a half marathon followed by a full marathon the very next day. Now, I just think that is insanity, but I admire the dedication and drive. Do you ever get twinges of jealousy that you can’t actively exercise like you want to? I do. I love to walk. I love slow, leisurely walks and I also love fast, brisk aerobic walking. That’s about the extent of the exercise that I can handle. I am thankful that I have the ability to even do that, but I would love to be able to push myself, as I did in high-school. I would love to feel physically strong again. Some days I crave it.

This passage in Hebrews compares our Christian journey to that of a physical race. We are runners on an important journey, a journey of faith in Jesus Christ. I may not have the endurance to run a physical race, but it is clear that the more important race is how we live for Christ. My desire is to run my race to please my Savior – setting aside my baggage to bring honor to His name. My focus should not be on what my body can no longer do, but on what I CAN do for Him. I don’t need a medal, I just want others to see my race and be drawn closer to Christ because of it. Let me encourage you today to fix your heart and mind on the things that will count for eternity. Because that really is the only race that matters!
*Thanks for reading and coming on this journey with me!  Your comments encourage me and I feel like I am getting to know some of you!  Blessings!

9 thoughts on “Running The Race

  1. Oh Ann, I love this one. I don’t know if i’m actually considered a runner – I just started one year ago and it’s been on and off due to hip issues. However, I know for me that running parallels my Christian journey ALOT. I know that when I think I literally am not going to be able to finish my predetermined distance for the day that I’ve called out to Jesus and asked for HIS help and somehow I’m then able to put one foot in front of the other and finish – it’s not necessarily pretty (form is sloppy, i sound like a freight train when im breathing, etc.) but it gets done. Then when it’s over all I can think is, “I didn’t get those miles accomplished in my strength but in HIS alone.” I’ve often wondered why i run when it hurts and every cell in my body is screaming for me to stop and crawl. All I can come up with is that it forces me to rely on HIM alot and HE always comes through and not always in the same way. One day I was running a 6 miler and the last mile was taking me up a hill (any elevation causes much distress in my running world) – the 1st 5 miles were unusually tough and all i could think was, “if these first 5 were this hard there is NO way i can make it up the Pineforest road mountain that’s coming.” It was September in the upper 90’s and 100% humidity. When we hit the bottom of the hill a cool rain began to pour. It s

  2. my reply is too long….but gotta finish….

    The rain was invigorating and gave me the energy it took to get up that hill to finish. If you had told me we would get soaked during the last mile I probably wouldn’t have gone b/c i would’ve thought how miserable and muggy that would have made it but it was great and i felt like it was God’s way of refreshing and restoring me for the uphill climb.
    I think you run an incredible race in this journey we are on! You rely on HIM for your endurance and that makes you STRONG! Love you! 🙂

  3. Great post, Ann! Good encouragement to keep on doing what we can, and not focus on what we can’t. After all, we can only do what we can thru HIM in the first place, anything else is just in vain. Love you and praying for you!

  4. Ann ~ this post spoke to me. God convicted my heart recently to celebrate what HE allows me to do through His strength, yet be sensitive to those who struggle. Those parallels carry over to many aspects of our lives. Thank you for this beautiful blog. I will be checking back in regularly to see what God leads you to share.

  5. Love this Ann! Thank you for an inspiring look at life and scripture and living in His name, with His strength, and His focus!!! Girl, I will walk with with you, anywhere, any time!!!! Blessings on you!

Leave a Reply

