Sixteen Years and Counting

December 14, 1995. Sixteen years ago today. I remember sitting at a college Christmas banquet with my fiance and I was feeling ill. Nauseous, no appetite, headache, extremely tired, etc… I thought I was coming down with something. Well, that feeling never really went away. (You can read more about that story here.) Sixteen years later, here I am, still dealing with the same symptoms.

It is only fitting that I have not had a good day today. I don’t fell well at all, I’m in pain, I’m exhausted and I’m letting holiday stress get to me!!! Keeping up with all the kids holiday events is no small task! Maybe I need to write a blog about dealing with holiday stress, so I can read it! LOL 🙂

So, here are some random lessons I’ve learned over the last sixteen years about fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome. Thought I would share them with you on this “anniversary” occasion.

1. Support is critical, necessary. Go out of your way to find it. You need it on this journey.

2. Getting restful sleep (8+ hours) is probably the number one thing you can do to help       yourself start feeling better.

3. Effective treatment takes trial and error. Everyone’s path is different. Never stop       pursuing wellness.

4. Vitamins and supplements can make a positive and significant difference.

5. Don’t take good health or good days for granted.

6. There are always people in worse situations than you.

7. Be grateful. Find the blessings.

8. God’s ways are perfect even when we don’t understand.

9. You have to be your own health advocate. Stay educated.

10. Illness makes you grouchy. 😦 Keep trying to rise above it!

One thought on “Sixteen Years and Counting

Leave a Reply

