Good Attitude

My Inspiration:

Psalm 118:24

This is the day the Lord has made, We will rejoice and be glad in it.

My Thoughts:

I usually wake up with this verse in my head and this morning was no exception. I had a different blog post planned for today, but after my restless night, I thought I would blog about this verse which has become my daily mantra. I didn’t have a very good night’s sleep. I take some supplements for sleep and they usually work pretty well, but last night was a little rough. I don’t often, if ever, give voice to all my aches and pains. They are just a normal part of my routine, but for the sake of this post, let me tell you about my night.

I had a rough, achy, painful, fatigued, stomach troubles, stuck on the couch type of day yesterday. I hated to miss church. The muscles in my neck leading up into my skull felt like tight guitar strings with big bruises on them – a common symptom for me. I think the mini flare might have something to do with the holiday and the fact that the kids didn’t have school last week. I love to have them home with me, but of course that takes a lot more energy output. Last night, I had a really hard time falling asleep, although I was very tired. My left hip and glutes hurt really bad! It felt like someone had used them for a punching bag. I couldn’t get comfortable. I couldn’t find a good position to lay in and I couldn’t find a good adjustment for my trusty adjustable bed. 🙂 I finally ended up laying on my right side, but woke up an hour later with shoulder, neck, and lower back pain. Again, tried to find a comfortable position. It took a while, but I finally fell asleep again, when my daughter woke me up because she couldn’t sleep either. Ugh!  I got up with her and helped her go back to sleep because that’s what a mommy does and then went back to bed. Couldn’t fall back to sleep right away, although I was exhausted. More pain. Finally, fell asleep again. My alarm went off to wake the kids up for school and although exhausted, I put my feet on the ground and thought, “This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it!”

I’ve had worse nights, much worse. I’m sure you have too, but my point is that although we are limited in controlling our illness, we have the ability to control our outlook. I am by nature a pessimist, but when dealing with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome, I have to concentrate on being an optimist. If not, all the days would be too dark to handle. Keeping a positive attitude will help your wellness!  It doesn’t always feel like it, but it will.  Feed your spirit with God’s love, His words, good friends, supportive family, and a good attitude. That is my encouragement to you today!

Do you have to try extra hard to have a good attitude and keep a positive spirit? Maybe for some of you that comes naturally. Please share with us what works for you.  I welcome your comments!

3 thoughts on “Good Attitude

  1. Thankyou Ann, I also start the day with the same Psalm followed by “I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me” deep breathing in that strength!…and when anxious…”With my Lord’s help I clear my mind of ALL fear, anxiety, and insecurity”…I thank Norman Vincent Peale and His book..”The Power of Positive Thinking” for His life changing help. I am so glad and grateful to have found you on FB …..thankyou for your inspiration…and I had one of those days yesterday too but here we are today sooooo grateful for the Lords Healing Peace.
    Gentle, Healing.Heavenly Hugs To You and your Friends here…Maureen

  2. Knowing that through the darkest of times, there will be a shard of light, ever so fleeting that will let me know the sun does still shine. Sometimes is hard to believe anything will be better, but remembering that there are still good days in between the pain helps to make it bearable.

Leave a Reply

