Psalm 23 – Part 2

My Inspiration:

Psalm 23

My Thoughts:

Psalm 23 is just so full of comfort for me, that I had to split my thoughts into two different blogs. If you missed Psalm 23 – Part 1, go back and read it!

I used to get frustrated a lot. Occasionally, I still do. For the most part, I have accepted my illness and it’s place in my life, but on a really bad day, my mind wanders. I get so mad that my body will not allow me to do the things I want to do or need to do. Anger and frustration only fuel the “flare up” and then I get stressed out about the physical consequences of getting angry and frustrated. It is a vicious cycle and usually results in pain. Our bodies just can’t handle stress like a “normal” person. And can I just add that raising five small children can certainly bring on some stress and frustration! 🙂 It is unavoidable. At these times, I need a place to go mentally because I just can’t function physically. That’s when I call out to God and seek comfort. And more often than not, my comfort again, comes from reciting Psalm 23. This passage is a “calm spot” for me.

I’m not sure if this will make sense to others, but here is how it plays out in my mind:

The Lord is my Shepherd. I shall not want. I need nothing else. I want nothing else.

He makes me to lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside the still waters. I can picture it. Walking beside the clear, cool waters. Lying down and resting in the soft, fuzzy grass. I just adore the beauty of nature and the images that come to mind when I read this. I rest my spirit and I rest my physical body. It brings me comfort. I know His love and care for me. I sense His presence.

He restores my soul. (Now, you know why I gave my blog this title. A variation on Psalm 23!) He restores me by allowing me to feel His presence, His comfort, His rest, His peace.

He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. His great name. His almighty, powerful, righteous and good, name. He is leading me, guiding me, with me.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me. As a human being, I will walk through times in my life that are dark and seemingly threatening, but I don’t have to fear “evil”. My loving Father is with me every step of the way, protecting me and guiding me. YOU, precious Father, are with ME!!! What an awesome thought!

Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. My loving Shepherd, protects me with His rod and guides me with His staff. He may not protect me from painful times, but He is there to comfort me when life is hard.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. God is my Provider of all things. Even in trial, He provides His presence.

You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over. I am blessed. So, very blessed. Thank You, Father!

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life. His mercies are good. He is good. He is merciful.

And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever. I have eternal life through my belief in Jesus Christ and will dwell forever with Him. I have the opportunity for fellowship with my Savior both here on this earth and for all eternity. Oh, how sweet heaven will be with NO MORE PAIN! Forever!

Leave a Reply

