Blessings

My Inspiration:

“Blessings” by Laura Story

My Thoughts:

I absolutely love this song. It makes me cry every time I hear it because I believe these words to be true. “What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near.” I have probably had a thousand sleepless nights because of CFS and Fibro and have often found myself crying out in the night to Him. Trials are not easy, but it is these times that fulfill a purpose in our lives that we cannot humanly understand.

In an ongoing effort to keep a grateful spirit, I have kept a mental list of things I am thankful for as a direct result of having chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia in my life. For the sake of this particular blog, I sat down and actually took the time to list them on paper. In just a few minutes, I came up with fifty things that I am grateful for as a result of this illness. Fifty!!! I didn’t realize there were that many “blessings” out of the raindrops of CFS or fibro. I knew there were some, but I was actually surprised at how many I came up with. Maybe sometime I will share that list with you, but for now I would like to issue a challenge. Challenge yourself to list the “blessings” that have come out of your illness. I think for those of us who have had this syndrome for years, it might be easier to see the positives, but for those you who are newly diagnosed it might be more difficult to come up with many or even ANY. The days can seem so dark, so lonely, so desperate. I know because I’ve been there. Grieving the old life we used to have is a process and can be filled with a lot of depression and ungratefulness.  I get it.  It’s OK to acknowledge the negative feelings, but don’t abandon the blessings.  Yes, there are blessings.  Keep looking.

My encouragement to you today is to listen to the words of this song and visualize the blessings in your life that have come from the raindrops and tears. What a precious talent God has given to Laura Story, the composer of this song. I am grateful for her ministry. It has touched me. I hope it has encouraged you today. Now, go list your CFS and/or fibromyalgia blessings.  If you are in a particularly dark place right now, challenge yourself to think of just one.  ONE.  Perhaps, it’ll give you a new perspective.

Care to share one of your blessings with us in the comments?

12 thoughts on “Blessings

  1. Ok ,I must start out by saying I felt the anointing by reading this ! I was all teared up lol Thanks for sharing and taking time to encourage others ! You have a calling , so not sure if you know this yet ?? I would say that my big one would be that I learned that I do not have to prove my Fibromyalgia illness to my family . Whether they believe me or not my illness is still gonna be here.It has made me realize that it will only make me hurt even worse by allowing the negativity drown me ! The second one is that it has made me stand up and push forward to seek what ever it takes me to cope ,with or without people believeing me .It has encouraged me to start a FB page to encourage other people that has FMS & CFS .that there are others here to be there for them no matter how often or how much there pain is without judging them.I can share more later. Hugs

  2. Thanks for your encouragement, Barbara! And you have some really good points. It’s hard to accept that not everyone will validate our illness, even our loved ones. That can be very hurtful! Support is vital on this journey and we have to take it from those who are freely willing to sympathize/empathize with us. Thanks for your part in that process!!

    Readers you can visit Barbara’s Fibromyalgia & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Suffers encouragement page on FB by going here. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Fibromyalgia-Chronic-Fatique-Syndrome-Suffers-encouragement-page/291499977528119

  3. Pingback: Blessing in Disguise « A 21st Century Gal

  4. Thank you for inspiring me to make my own list. (http://21stcenturygal.wordpress.com/2011/11/17/blessing-in-disguise/) I have learned a lot about the good things that have come out of my Fibro diagnosis that I wouldn’t ordinarily have thought about. My biggest blessing is that I’ve learned to take my health more seriously and stop putting it on the back burner so that I could focus on others. I’ve taken control of my health and therefore have made many changes, for the better I might add, that allow me to really enjoy my life and not be all about work all the time. Thanks again for motivating me to take a look at this in a whole new light.

  5. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving | Restoring My Soul

  6. Pingback: Sixteen Years and Counting | Restoring My Soul

  7. Pingback: Seeking God | Restoring My Soul

  8. Pingback: Seeking God | Restoring My Soul

  9. Pingback: Rest For Your Soul | Restoring My Soul

  10. Pingback: All Things Work For Good | Restoring My Soul

  11. Pingback: Blame | Restoring My Soul

  12. Pingback: Blessing in Disguise | 21st Century Gal - A Classy, Not Brassy, Guide To Management And Life

Leave a Reply

