Tuesday Tip – Memory Foam Mattress

One of the BEST purchases I’ve ever made was the Tempur-Pedic mattress. OK, so we bought a knock off brand to save some money, but still the memory foam mattress is fabulous. We also bought the adjustable base. You know the adjustable kind of bed that you used to see in the commercials with the old people who can’t get out of bed by themselves. Well, our bed adjusts so you can raise and lower the head or the foot of the bed – kind of like a hospital bed. We have a king size bed so, we each control our own side – like two twin beds pushed together, but in one frame. We were on the market for a new bed about 6 years ago and discovered the memory foam type and I knew it was perfect for me because of my pain and sleep issues caused by the fibro. The adjustable type was only purchased because my parents had one and highly recommended it. I never would’ve considered it otherwise, but I am so glad we did.

Anyway, I was a few months pregnant with the twins when we bought this mattress and looking back I never would have slept through that pregnancy without this mattress. (Can I mention that the twins together weighed 14 pounds at birth!  Can you imagine?)  I wouldn’t be sleeping NOW if it wasn’t for this bed. My left hip is a constant sore spot and I can’t lay on my left side for more than 5 minutes. I can’t lay on my right side for too long either because of shoulder pain. Stomach sleeping is a thing of the past – that’s not even an option. This leaves me with sleeping on my back and laying flat just kills my lower back. How are you supposed to sleep when you cannot find a comfortable, pain free position?

The memory foam bed is very different from traditional mattresses and it took a few weeks to get used to, but now I am in love with it. I’ve said for years, it is the best money I ever spent. The downfall of going away on vacation is that I can’t take this bed with me! This bed has saved comfortable sleep! I sleep with the head of the bed and the foot of the bed raised – like I am reclining in a recliner. It is fantastic! I can often sleep through the night without pain waking me up. I still struggle with other sleep issues and I realize that with CFS and fibro there are many different reasons why we can’t sleep, but don’t let an uncomfortable mattress be one of them!

If you are on the hunt for a new one, you must go test out the Tempur-Pedic or some brand of memory foam mattress, but that’s only half of it. Try to find one that has an adjustable base. Go test one out and see if you love it as much as I do. It’s a huge investment, but well worth it.  How about you? What kind of mattress works for you?

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Tip – Memory Foam Mattress

  1. Pingback: Good Attitude | Restoring My Soul

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tip – Restful Sleep | Restoring My Soul

  3. i so need a mattress like this, i have the same issues, left hip pain and shoulder pain and then on the right side shoulder issues 🙂 so i am constantly moving, and the recliner is often my best friend….

Leave a Reply

